Registered with the Registrar of Newspapers for India under No. 10410



Registered No. PY/44/2021-23

PART - I

சிறப்பு வெளியீடு		EXTRAORDINAIRE			EXTRAORDINARY
அதிகாரம் வெளியீடு	பெற்ற		Publiée par Autorité		Published by Authority
बर्ज्ज No. No. } 91	புதுச்சேரீ Poudouchéry Puducherry	புதன்கீழமை Mercredi Wednesday	2023 @f° 23 23rd	ஆகஸ்ட மீ Août August	23 a 2023 (1 Bhadra 1945) 2023

GOVERNMENT OF PUDUCHERRY CHIEF SECRETARIAT (ENVIRONMENT)

No. 6172/Evnt./2023.

Puducherry, dated 17th August 2023.

NOTIFICATION

The Notification in S.O.3319(E) dated 25th July 2023 of Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Government of India as published in the Extraordinary Gazette of India Part-II, Section-3 – Sub-section (ii) No. 3177, dated 25th July 2023 is hereby republished for information of the general public.

P. EJOUMALE,

Under Secretary to Government (Environment).

NOTIFICATION

New Delhi, the 25th July, 2023

S.O. 3319(E).—In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (3) of section 3 of the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 (29 of 1986) and in pursuance of the notification of the Government of India of the *erstwhile* Ministry of Environment and Forests, number S.O. 1533(E), dated the 14th September, 2006 (hereinafter referred to as the said notification), the Central Government, hereby constitutes the State/UT Level Environment Impact Assessment Authority for Puducherry (hereinafter referred to as the Authority) comprising of following persons, namely: -

(1)	Dr. M. Dwarakanath,	Chairman;
	E-701, Sree Daksha Hreeva Apartments,	
	Telungupalayam Pirivu, Perur Main Road,	
	Coimbatore-641026.	
(2)	Dr. V. Ravitchandirane,	Member;
	Associate Professor and Head, Department of Zoology, Kanchi Mamunivar	
	Govt. Institute for Postgraduate Studies and Research, Puducherry-605008.	
(3)	Director, Department of Science, Technology	Member -
	and Environment, Government of Puducherry, 3 nd Floor, PHB Building, Anna Nagar, Puducherry-605005.	Secretary.

 The Chairman and Member of the Authority shall hold office for a term not exceeding three years from the date of publication of this notification in the Official Gazette.

3. The Authority, shall exercise the powers and follow the procedures specified in the said notification.

 The Authority shall take its decision on the recommendations of the State/UT Level Expert Appraisal Committee constituted under paragraph 5.

 For the purpose of assisting the Authority, the Central Government, in consultation with Puducherry administration, hereby constitutes the State/UT Level Expert Appraisal Committee (hereinafter referred to as the Committee), Puducherry comprising of the following persons, namely: -

Dr. K Srinivasamoorthy,

Professor, Department of Earth Sciences, School of Physical, Chemical and Applied Sciences, Pondicherry University, Puducherry-605014.

- (2) Dr. M. Velan, No.3/18, Seventh Street, Dharmaraja Nagar, Porur, Chennai -600116.
- (3) Dr. Nehru Kumar Vaithilingam, Director, Centre for Environment, Health & Safety, Annamalai University, Annamalai Nagar, Chidambaram -608002.

Chairman;

Member;

Member;

(4)	Dr. G. Vijayakumar,	Member;
	Professor, Dept. of Civil Engineering,	
	Puducherry, Technological University,	
	Puducherry-605014,	
(5)	Dr. K. Sivakumar,	Member;
	Professor	
	Department of Ecology and Environmental	
	Science, Pondicherry University, Puducherry -605014.	
(6)	Dr. R. Sridar,	Member;
	Professor and Head	
	Department of Chemical Engineering,	
	Puducherry, Technological University,	
	Puducherry-605014.	
(7)	Dr. S. Gajalakshmi,	Member;
	Associate Professor, Centre for Pollution	
	Control and Environmental Engineering,	
	Pondicherry University,	
	Puducherry-605014.	
(8)	Dr. A. Sankaran,	Member;
	Associate Professor, Department of Economics,	
	School of Management, Pondicherry University,	
	Puducherry-605014.	
(9)	Dr. G. Pradeep Kumar,	Member;
	Assistant Professor,	
	Mahatma Gandhi Govt. Arts College, Mahe,	
	Puducherry-673310.	
(10)	Dr. Kumaresan Vadivelu,	Member;
	Assistant Professor of Botany,	
	Kanchi Mamunivar Govt. Institute of	
	Postgraduate Studies & Research, Puducherry- 605008.	
(11)	Senior Scientific Officer, Department of	Member-
	Science, Technology and Environment,	Secretary.
	Government of Puducherry, 3rd Floor,	
	PHB Building, Anna Nagar,	
	Puducherry-605005.	

 The Chairman and Members of the Committee, Puducherry shall hold office for a term of three years from the date of publication of this notification in the Official Gazette. In order to avoid any conflict of interest,-

(1) The Chairman and members of the Authority, and the Committee shall,-

 (a) declare to which consulting organisation they have been associated with and also the project proponents;

(b) not undertake any consultation or association with regard to preparation of Environment Impact Assessment and Environment Management Plan for project, which may be decided by the Authority, or to be appraised by the Committee during their tenure; and

(2) If in the preceding five years, the Chairman or any member of the Authority or the Committee has provided consultancy or conducted Environment Impact Assessment studies for any project proponent, in that situation they shall recuse themselves from the meetings of the Authority and the Committee from the process of appraisal of any project proposed by such proponents.

8. The Committee shall exercise the powers and follow the procedures specified in the said notification.

The Committee shall function on the principles of collective responsibility and the Chairman shall endeavour to reach consensus in each case, and if they fail to reach consensus the view of the majority shall prevail.

10. The Union territory of Puducherry administration shall specify an agency to act as Secretariat of the Authority and the Committee and the Secretariat shall provide financial and logistic support including accommodation, transportation and such other facilities in respect of its statutory functions.

11. The sitting fees, travelling allowances and dearness allowances to the Chairman and members of the Authority, Puducherry and the Chairman and members of the Committee, shall be paid in accordance with the provisions of relevant rules made by the Union territory of Puducherry administration.

[F. No. IA3-13/3/2022-IA.III]

Dr. SUJIT KUMAR BAJPAYEE, Joint Secretary.